Hallmark Quality Assurance Scheme

What is Hallmark?

Hallmark is a Quality Assurance scheme specifically designed for Village Halls which provides 3 levels of award, each Hall may be rated from Level 1 to Level 3 (the highest level of award).

To achieve a Level 1 award, a Hall must achieve at least 70% of the required standards set out by the Hallmark process. Applications to a higher level of award can only be submitted once the previous standard has been achieved (i.e. Level 1 is required before applying to become Level 2).

The scheme seeks to:

  1. Reward and establish good practice;
  2. Encourage improvement in established customs and procedures;
  3. Gain recognition for obtaining good standards in the management of your hall.

Participating in the Hallmark process

Halls wishing to apply are provided with a checklist and, when they feel that they meet the requirements of the scheme they can apply to have an assessor visit the hall and provide an advisory report against the standards set out for the proposed Level of award.

The Hallmark Certificate is valid for 3 years.

Some insurers now provide a discount on premiums to halls that hold Hallmark in recognition of good practice.

How to apply

To apply to join the Hallmark process, applicants must complete the application form located here.

Once completed, please return it to villagehalls@ruralsussex.org.uk

A charge is made to cover administration costs, currently £75 for each of the levels being assessed + travel for the assessors + VAT.

If you have any questions regarding the process then please make contact via 01273 473422 or villagehalls@ruralsussex.org.uk

“Supporting rural communities in Sussex to be vibrant and diverse places in which to live and work.”